SRV, which is an abbreviation for Service, is a DNS record, which allows you to use a domain name for a specific service different from an Internet site. By creating a few SRV records, you are able to use the domain with different providers and forward it to several servers simultaneously, every single server managing a different service. You could specify the port number for the connection to every machine, so there will never be any interference. You could also set different priorities and weight for two records that are employed for the exact same service, but forward to different servers for redundancy or load balancing. With an SRV record you can use your domain address or a subdomain under it for a Voice-Over-IP server, for example, and have the real software running on a number of machines with different providers. Which one a customer of yours is going to use is determined by the priority and weight values that you've set.
SRV Records in Semi-dedicated Hosting
With a semi-dedicated server solution from our company, you are going to be able to use the easy to navigate DNS management tool, which is a part of the in-house developed Hepsia hosting Control Panel. It is going to offer you a rather simple interface to set up a new record for every single domain hosted within the account, so if you need to use a domain for any purpose, you can create a completely new SRV record with only a couple of mouse clicks. Using simple text boxes, you'll need to input the service, protocol and port number details, which you should have from the company offering you the service. Moreover, you're going to be able to choose what priority and weight the record will have if you intend to use a couple or more machines for the exact same service. The standard value for them is 10, but you could set any other value between 1 and 100 if necessary. Furthermore, you will have the option to adjust the TTL value from the standard 3600 seconds to a various different value - thus setting the time this record will be active in the global DNS system after you erase it or modify it.